The Thread

I have been home from work for a week due to a nasty cold. It’s starting to give way now, thankfully, but I’m not out of the woods just yet. 

One thing I have found is that during times of illness (while having been reasonably conscious), when I haven’t been able to focus on studying or work, my mind always tends to gravitate towards Wicca and the Craft. Suddenly I’m back to doing daily devotionals, journaling and what not. It’s like I’m being pulled by this thread attached to my heart and everything settles into what it ought to be. One can not help but wander what would happen if I had more leisure time on my hands. That would be glorious! 

Recently I started thinking about how empty and lacking my life would be without Wicca. I have never seen myself living an ordinary life. I mean ordinary in the sense that you follow a predictable pattern and living by the norm, like getting married, buying a home and raising a bunch of kids that you devote the rest of your life to. I’ve done the first two but that’s where I jokingly draw the line. I’ve never been into kids and am not the motherly type. I can’t see my life evolving around family life in that sense, it’s not the path for me. Not that there’s  anything inherently wrong with it, but I have other dreams, other aspirations. So anyway, without Wicca I wouldn’t enjoy the sense of purpose I now know. It really is the vein of my existence, though it sounds terribly dramatic and perhaps pretentious. But that’s how I feel about my religion. It gives my life meaning. 

When I toss around words like “purpose” and “meaning” I’m not saying that I’ve got it all figured out by any means. I have not singled out my life’s purpose or anything. What I do mean is that I am devoted to mystery. The mystery of being alive in this time and place, the mystery of the gods and to the betterment of my character by their guidance. I guess it’s that simple, and that hard.

  

Leave a comment